Guests not Airbnb Profile

Nicole275
Level 2
Queensland, Australia

Guests not Airbnb Profile

Hi there,

I'm new to hosting and was wondering if I could get some help on the risks of taking a booking where the guests are family or friends of the Airbnb profile?

Should I be asking one of the guests to make the booking?

If the guest staying is not the airbnb profile am I at risk with airbnb policies?

Thanks in advance!

12 Replies 12

Glad you asked that question. I literally just had my first guess made me rethink this entire hosting! This young lady refused to pay the extra guest fee and felt as though because she sent me a message stating her husband was joining her she didn't need to pay the fee. Well it got really bad on her part, she was very unprofessional and rude. I had to cancel her reservation and she sent so many  derogatory messages. 

Good luck!

@Precious2 , for the future you can avoid this problem by checking the guest list on a reservation, and if they only list one guest, but you know two are coming, ask them to change the reservation to two (or do it yourself, but then they still have to okay it) , then the new amount gets automatically computed by Airbnb. You never charge or accept $$ yourself, all financial dealings go through Airbnb. 

But on the long run it might just be smoother not to charge for an extra person after 1, perhaps raise your price to $45 and that will take care of it, sometimes you'll have one guest, sometimes 2. A lot of guests don't read the details, so even you stipulated the extra charge in your listing, they might easily overlook it, then get mad....

David126
Level 10
Como, CO

Third party booking are against AirBnb policy.

David
Montana3
Level 2
San Antonio, TX

Though I admit I'm not surre how to go about this, I wanted to chime in with a recent booking of a daughter who booked for her mom.