My journey from being a guest to becoming a Superhost

Dandara3
Host Advisory Board Member
Maceió, Brazil

My journey from being a guest to becoming a Superhost

Me (on the right) with my mother CarmemMe (on the right) with my mother Carmem

I'm from Maceió and have always used Airbnb during my travels as a guest. Every time I got back home, I shared my experience with my mother and told her how warmly I was welcomed by the Hosts. Hearing my stories, my mother, Carmem, began to want to welcome travelers into our home and also decided to share my brother's room, who had moved out and left the space unoccupied.

It wasn't long before I became even more interested in the platform and became the Maceió Hosts' club leader. I am a psychologist by training and used to work in personnel management. But today, just like my mother, I live entirely on the income generated by the bookings of our accommodation on the platform. Airbnb has brought a greater purpose to my life. Being a Host and a Community Leader makes me feel like a greater part of my city and my community.

By making the rooms in my mother's apartment available on Airbnb, taking care of managing the listing on the platform and my mother welcoming the guests, we became closer, not only as a family, but as real partners in this new venture. The rooms we share are listed as “Instant Book,” so we're always on the lookout for bookings, which can come at any time. “I just need 15 minutes to get the bed ready,” says my mom jokingly at times.

Today, I live with my family – my husband, our Border Collie named Maya and many fish – in another apartment not far from my mom's. That's why we also share my old room on the platform.