Pricing

Pricing

Hi everybody! I'm new to Air BnB and I'm in need of advice on pricing. I have a full home. Sleeps 16. I've been putting down prices for a full house but I feel like that is scaring guests from booking. Should i put down a price for 4 people and then say additional charges for every extra person? What would be a good base price and what would you additionally charge for each extra person?!

3 Replies 3
Guy991
Level 10
Sintra, Portugal

Hello @Lori3658 

Welcome, and I hope you will host many wonderful guests in your house.

Here are some general ideas for you to consider:

1. The negotiation with the marina is mentioned twice, and I'm not sure if this phase of the process is worth mentioning. When there is access, let the guests know.

2. I couldn't find information on which floor the bedrooms are located. Are they all on the second floor? Will all guests need to climb stairs to reach their rooms?

3. In my opinion, this property will attract more reservations for groups of around 8 people. It's unlikely to have a full house of 15 people given your sleeping arrangements and a dining table that seats 8-10. The dining table is usually a good indication of a property's capacity.

4. Consider adding a picture of the house from the outside. The photos are a bit mixed up, and the beautiful view from the house should be emphasized. It's currently blended with other pictures from the area.

5. You can use a base price method with an additional charge per guest, but since this is a large house (which I wouldn't recommend for smaller properties), consider locking the attic and offering the house in a separate listing for 6-10 people.

In the second listing, you can use a base price for 6 guests and an additional charge for guests up to 10. Don't include the attic in the second listing.

Think in terms of floors, not rooms.

6. Regarding pricing, check the properties around you to determine how much a group of 6-10 will  pay, and start from there.